USO West Leadership

Bob Kurkjian

USO West Regional President
bkurkjian@uso.org
562-999-7731

Bob Kurkjian is the President of USO West and responsible for USO operations and fund development in Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Oregon, Montana, Nevada, Utah, and Washington. Joining the USO family in 2012 as President of Bob Hope USO in Southern California, Bob led a meteoric rise in programing and fund development in the eight counties served by Bob Hope USO. He championed the effort to fundraise, design and build four new centers, including a $10M relocation and expansion of the flagship USO center at LAX. The expanded services both on-base, in airports and in the community more than tripled the number of service interactions and resulted in a nearly ten-fold increase in corporate and major gift revenue. In his current role, he has led the establishment of USO centers in the previously unserved states of Montana, Idaho, and Utah, where a soon-to-be-opened premier USO airport center is on tap at Salt Lake City International. In the past, Bob has worked for the Mayor of Los Angeles, the PricewaterhouseCoopers Non-Profit practice, CRDF Global, Conservation International and the National Governors Association.

A Navy Reserve officer, Bob was mobilized for most of 2019 serving as the commander of Defense Logistics Agency Afghanistan where he led a team of both military and civilians around the country who managed strategic logistics for U.S. and coalition troops. Three previous deployments have included tours in Iraq, Bahrain and afloat, aboard the flagship of the international counter-piracy task force. He is currently the commanding officer of a Pacific Fleet reserve logistics unit and qualified as both a Seabee Combat Warfare Specialist and Navy Expeditionary Supply Corps Officer.

Bob is a two-time graduate of the University of Southern California, and graduated, with distinction, from the master’s program at the United States Naval War College, where he focused on East Asia. In addition, he spent a summer at Sichuan Union University in Chengdu, China, where he studied Chinese history and language. Bob recently completed a four-year term as a board member for Goodwlll Orange County, one of the largest Goodwill operations in the world, and has previously served on the board of Academy of Hope, an adult education and charter school organization in Washington, DC. He is a current member of the Board of Counselors for USC’s Marshall School of Business Masters in Business for Veterans program and an emeritus member of the USC Alumni Association Board of Governors. A licensed CPA in the Commonwealth of Virginia and an avid traveler, Bob has spent at least one night in 68 countries and counting. He is an Eagle Scout, and back in uniform as a Cub Scout Leader, where he has quickly discovered that wrangling eight third-graders share many similarities with logistics operations in war zones.

David Thorson

USO West Regional Director of Operations
dthorson@uso.org
702-261-1586

David serves as the Director of Operations for the West Region at USO overseeing military support services in 9 western states, assisting over 1 million service members and their families in 2020. Previously he managed the Nevada operations for the USO as Executive Director where he was responsible for operations and fundraising activities. Prior to joining the USO he was the CFO and CMO for Nevada Trust Company. Previously he held executive and management roles at Hewlett-Packard and Ford Motor Company, respectively, as well as executive roles at three technology start-up companies in operations, finance, marketing and sales. Throughout his career he has lived or worked in 7 different countries.

MBA from Escuela Superior de Administración y Dirección de Empresas (Barcelona, Spain); Master of International Management from the Thunderbird School of Global Management (Glendale, AZ); Bachelor of Science in Finance and Economics, University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ).

He continues to serve on the Board of Directors for Nevada Trust Company and Trustar Corporation. He has also served as President of the Las Vegas Rotary Club, Assistant District Governor for Rotary District 5300 and Trustee of Verde Valley School in Sedona, AZ.

USO West Staff

Allison Anderson
Programs Manager, USO West Region
aanderson@uso.org

Monique August
USO Northern California Executive Director
aanderson@uso.org

Brett Banks
USO Alaska Executive Director
bbanks@uso.org

Angela Collins
USO Transitions Manager, USO West Region
acollins@uso.org

Gabriella Coyle
Development & Communications Manager, USO West Region
gcoyle@uso.org

Ginger Csizmadi
Regional Accounting Manager, USO West Region
gcsizmadi@uso.org

William Fenick
USO San Diego Executive Director
wfenick@uso.org

Carla Garcia
Senior Development and Board Relations Officer, USO West Region
cgarcia@uso.org

Cliff Gibson
Regional Communications Manager, USO West Region
cgibson@uso.org

Lynne Groom
Regional Development Manager, USO Northwest
lgroom@uso.org

Don Leingang
USO Northwest Executive Director
dleingang@uso.org

Jeff Mich
Operations Manager, USO West Region
jmich@uso.org

DJ Stanhope
USO Nevada Executive Director
dstanhope@uso.org

Mary VanDerwalker
Executive Assistant, USO West Region
mvanderwalker@uso.org