USO West Leadership

Lorin Stewart

USO West Interim Regional President
lstewart@uso.org
619-888-0031

Serving as USO’s Interim West Region President, Stewart oversees USO operations, expeditionary support, and development efforts throughout nine states including: Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

Lorin served as President & CEO of USO San Diego prior to the OneUSO mergers. In 2019, Stewart helped stand up the USO West Region as its Interim Regional President and since 2020 has been the Vice President of USO Regional Board Relations.

Stewart is a recognized leader with strong abilities to engage Board members, lead employees, and managing the myriad of relationships required of USO leaders.

Stewart is a graduate of Santa Clara University.

Carla Garcia

USO West Sr. Development & Board Relations Officer
cgarcia@uso.org
480-220-0237

After six years serving as Executive Director for USO Arizona, Carla Garcia is now charged with the USO West regional leadership of development, regional and local board relations, as well as regional marketing and communications efforts serving the 9-state region. The Senior Development and Board Relations Officer will focus on cultivating awareness and connection to the mission for both the local and regional board members.

Carla joined USO in 2015, having served as Regional Chief Operating Officer for the American Red Cross for the Arizona, New Mexico, and El Paso Region. Since joining the USO, Carla led Arizona’s staff and volunteers as well as an Advisory Board of community leaders toward the expansion of programs and services to all major military base installations in Arizona. Under Carla’s stewardship, USO expanded the board’s reach and impact in developing and implementing a broad base of fundraising and community engagement strategies.

Drawing from experience in both corporate and nonprofit organizations, Carla has accumulated a comprehensive background in fund development, board development, P&L management, talent acquisition, grants management, external relations, and strategic planning.

Ms. Garcia served as Honorary Commander for the 56th Fighter Wing at Luke Air Force Base. She is a member of ASU President Community Council of nonprofit leaders, Valley of the Sun United Way - Women United, as well as a host of committees and military affairs organizations. She holds a BASc in Organizational Leadership from the University of Arizona.

David Thorson

USO West Regional Director of Operations
dthorson@uso.org
702-261-1586

David serves as the Director of Operations for the West Region at USO overseeing military support services in 9 western states, assisting over 1 million service members and their families in 2020. Previously he managed the Nevada operations for the USO as Executive Director where he was responsible for operations and fundraising activities. Prior to joining the USO he was the CFO and CMO for Nevada Trust Company. Previously he held executive and management roles at Hewlett-Packard and Ford Motor Company, respectively, as well as executive roles at three technology start-up companies in operations, finance, marketing and sales. Throughout his career he has lived or worked in 7 different countries.

MBA from Escuela Superior de Administración y Dirección de Empresas (Barcelona, Spain); Master of International Management from the Thunderbird School of Global Management (Glendale, AZ); Bachelor of Science in Finance and Economics, University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ).

He continues to serve on the Board of Directors for Nevada Trust Company and Trustar Corporation. He has also served as President of the Las Vegas Rotary Club, Assistant District Governor for Rotary District 5300 and Trustee of Verde Valley School in Sedona, AZ.

USO West Staff

Allison Anderson
Sr. Regional Donor Stewardship Manager, USO West Region
aanderson@uso.org

Brett Banks
USO Alaska Executive Director
bbanks@uso.org

Gabriella Coyle
Sr. Development & Communications Manager, USO West Region
gcoyle@uso.org

Ginger Csizmadi
Accounting Manager, USO West Region
gcsizmadi@uso.org

Charlene Downey
Bob Hope USO Executive Director
cdowney@uso.org

William Fenick
USO San Diego Executive Director
wfenick@uso.org

Don Leingang
USO Northwest Executive Director
dleingang@uso.org

Jeff Mich
Operations Manager, USO West Region
jmich@uso.org

Tim Mullin
USO Nevada Executive Director
tmullin@uso.org

Kelly Nastos
USO Arizona Executive Director
knastos@uso.org

Mary VanDerwalker
Executive Assistant, USO West Region
mvanderwalker@uso.org